Project Description

Uwe Steinmetz

Lass Leuchten uns dein göttlich Licht

NOTHING FOUND!

CD Available for order via: info@felicitas-records.de
CD 14,90 € (incl. shipping)

The world is closer together than ever before […] but divided in dealing with the consequences of colonialism and the exploitation and destruction of the earth, such as climate change, pandemics, migration movements, social injustice and racism. It is overwhelmingly a time of conversion, pause, and reorientation: “How do we want to live?” – “How can we achieve change and make it sustainable, just and free?”

Let your Divine Light shine upon us, a work commissioned by the “Forum Reformation” movement
on the occasion of the 500th anniversary of Martin Luther’s main Reformation writings,
traces these questions from a Christian perspective from the roots of the
Reformation movement to the present day. […] In the tradition of Luther, who often arranged hymns of the early church or folk songs in contemporary sound language for the Reformation services, this oratorio encompasses seven of Martin Luther’s chorales, in addition to four of my own compositions and arrangements, which interpret core elements of Luther´s theology. Three biblical readings (Sola Scriptura) form the textual foundation, texts by other […]significant Protestant Christians, John Milton, Dietrich Bonhoeffer, Gordon Sumner and Christian Lehnert comment and complement.

The Reformation movement, thanks to Martin Luther’s love of music […]was at the same time
A liberation movement for music. It inspired religious artists […] like
Johann Sebastian Bach […] to the present day […] to understand their music as a language of
spiritual experiences and to create it with a freedom,
that connects cultures and religions […]. Spiritual Jazz with its roots in the Protestant churches of North America by artists like Duke Ellington, Mary Lou Williams and John Coltrane is an important heritage of this musical reformation movement in the […] present – and this oratorio is rooted in the same tradition, but with decidedly European roots of Protestant church music.

Uwe Steinmetz (Saxophon) has engaged outstanding artists to record his composition.

Esther Kaiser – Vocal
Carol McGonnell – C-Clarinet
Marie-Christine Becker – Oboe, English horn
Lauren Steinmetz – Cello
Carlos Bica – Contrabass
Arne Jansen – Electric guitar
Eric Schaefer – Drums, Percussion.

Projekt Beschreibung

Uwe Steinmetz

Lass Leuchten uns dein göttlich Licht

NOTHING FOUND!

CD bestellbar unter: info@felicitas-records.de
CD 14,90 € (inkl. Versand)

Die Welt ist enger zusammengerückt als je zuvor […], aber gespalten in der Bewältigung der Folgen von Kolonialismus und der Ausbeutung und Zerstörung der Erde, wie Klimawandel, Pandemien, Migrationsbewegungen, soziale Ungerechtigkeit und Rassismus. Es ist überdeutlich eine Zeit der Umkehr, des Innehaltens und der Neuorientierung: „Wie wollen wir leben?“ – „Wie können wir Veränderungen erreichen und nachhaltig gerecht und freiheitlich gestalten?“

Lass Leuchten uns dein göttlich Licht, ein Auftragswerk der Bewegung „Forum Reformation“
anlässlich des 500jährigen Jubiläums von Martin Luthers´ reformatorischen Hauptschriften,
verfolgt diese Fragen aus christlicher Perspektive von den Wurzeln der
Reformationsbewegung bis in die Gegenwart hinein. […] In der Tradition Luthers, der vielfach Gesänge der alten Kirche oder Volkslieder in gegenwärtiger Klangsprache für die reformatorischen Gottesdienste arrangierte, sind es neben vier eigenen Kompositionen und Arrangements sieben von Martin Luthers Chorälen die in diesem Oratorium Kernelemente seiner Theologie interpretieren. Drei Biblische Lesungen (Sola Scriptura) bilden dabei das textliche Fundament, Texte von anderen […]bedeutsamen protestantischen Christen, John Milton, Dietrich Bonhoeffer, Gordon Sumner und Christian Lehnert kommentieren und ergänzen.

Die Reformationsbewegung war dank Martin Luthers Liebe zur Musik […]zugleich
eine klingende Befreiungsbewegung. Sie inspirierte religiöse Künstler […] wie
Johann Sebastian Bach bis in die Gegenwart […], ihre Musik als Sprache von
spirituellen Erfahrungen zu begreifen und in grenzüberschreitender Freiheit zu erschaffen,
die verbindend zwischen Kulturen und Religionen wirkt […]. Der Spiritual Jazz mit seinen Wurzeln in den protestantischen Kirchen Nordamerikas von Künstler*innen wie Duke Ellington, Mary Lou Williams und John Coltrane ist ein wichtiges Erbe dieser musikalischen Reformationsbewegung in der […] Gegenwart – und dieses Oratorium sehe ich verwurzelt in derselben Tradition, allerdings mit dezidiert europäischen Wurzeln der protestantischen Kirchenmusik.

Uwe Steinmetz (Saxophon) hat für die Aufnahme seiner Komposition „Lass leuchten uns dein göttlich Licht“ ein herausragendes Ensemble zusammengestellt:

Esther Kaiser – Gesang
Carol McGonnell – C-Klarinette
Marie-Christine Becker – Oboe, Englischhorn
Lauren Steinmetz – Cello
Carlos Bica – Kontrabass
Arne Jansen – Gitarre
Eric Schaefer – Schlagzeug, Perkussion